Newsletter subscribe

Arizona, Features, Politics, Top Stories

Biggs and Tobin look to make Arizona more competitive

Posted: August 17, 2013 at 10:00 am   /   by


STATE CAPITOL, PHOENIX (August 16, 2013) – In an effort to enhance Arizona’s business friendly profile and to make our system more fair for the average taxpayer, Senate President Andy Biggs (R-Dist. 12) and Speaker of the House Andy Tobin (R-Dist. 1) have formed a Legislative Task Force on Income Tax Reform.

The bipartisan and bicameral interim body, which will be co-chaired by Senator Steve Yarbrough (R-Dist. 17) and Speaker Pro Tempore J.D. Mesnard (R-Dist. 17), will function as a partnership between legislators and the private sector. Its primary role will be to explore ways of reforming Arizona’s existing personal income tax system in order to create a simple, predictable, fair and transparent system for all Arizona taxpayers.

Pleased with the legislative focus of the interim body, Senator Yarbrough stated, “It’s been a long time since the Legislature has taken a close look at the personal income tax system. I’m looking forward to working with the other members of the task force, exploring all the possible reforms that could help Arizonans.” 

The task force will meet up to twice a month from August through December, 2013, and subsequently make policy recommendations to the 51st Legislature with which to draft legislation in the 2014 session.

Honored by his new assignment, Speaker Pro Tempore Mesnard stated, “Recently, Arizona has made great strides on the road to becoming the nation’s most desirable place in which to live and do business, but the journey never ends.  I am confident that through this collaboration between small business owners, tax experts, economists and elected officials, we’ll be able to develop fiscal policies to help our state realize its full economic potential.”


The members of the task force are as follows:

Senator Steve Yarbrough (R-Dist. 17) – Co-Chair

Speaker Pro Tempore J.D. Mesnard (R-Dist.17) – Co-Chair

Representative Debbie Lesko (R-Dist. 21)

Representative Bruce Wheeler (D-Dist. 10)

Senator Kelli Ward (R-Dist. 5)

Senator Steve Farley (D-Dist. 9)

Kevin McCarthy, President – Arizona Tax Research Association

Farrell Quinlan, Arizona State Director – National Federation of Independent Businesses

Aimee Rigler, Executive Director – Small Business Alliance

Barry Broome, President & CEO – Greater Phoenix Economic Council

Stephen Slivinski, Senior Economist – Goldwater Institute

Peggy Ullmann, Certified Public Accountant – Ullmann and Company, P.C.

Jim Rounds, Senior Vice President and Senior Economist – Elliott D. Pollack and Company

Leave a comment

Biggs and Tobin look to make Arizona more competitive